Community Enterprise Queensland (CEQ) is a Queensland Government Statutory Body which delivers essential services into remote Indigenous communities across North Queensland.

Our organisation is overseen by a highly experienced Board that reports to the Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships on an annual basis.

The CEQ Board has primary responsibility to set the strategic direction and risk appetite of the organisation, as well as to monitor business performance.

To help achieve this, the Board has the following sub-committees that report to it on a regular basis:

  • Finance, Audit, Risk and Governance Committee
  • Employment, Training and Safety Committee
  • Community, Public Relations and Marketing Committee.

The Board is committed to ethical behaviour and works within its charter, monitoring the business and reviewing policies, business plans, budgets, and capital expenditure.

The CEQ Executive Team consists of a Chief Executive Officer, General Manager Business Infrastructure & Logistics, General Manager Human Resources, General Manager Finance, General Manager Merchandise, General Manager Operations and General Manager Stakeholder Engagement.

Meet the Board

In accordance with section 60 of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Communities (Justice, Land and Other Matters) Act 1984, the CEQ Board is comprised of at least five, but not more than 10 members appointed by the Governor in Council.


Mayor Vonda Malone

Mayor Vonda Malone is an Indigenous nationally acclaimed political leader of the year, and the first female Mayor of Torres Shire Council, with extensive professional experience across three levels of governments specialising in Indigenous Affairs.

Cr Malone was awarded the prestigious McKinnon Prize for Emerging Political Leader of the Year through the University of Melbourne School of Government in 2017. She holds a Graduate Certificate in Australian Rural Leadership, Graduate Certificate in Public Sector Management and is a recipient of the 2001 Centenary Medal. Cr Malone has international experience from her engagements with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and the United Nations Office of the Human Rights Commission, Geneva.

In addition, Cr Malone is the Chairperson and Founder of Torres Health Indigenous Corporation member of the Senior Advisory Group (Voice Co-design), member of the Indigenous Advisory Group to the Ministerial Forum on Northern Australia, member of the Qld Telstra Advisory Group and Former Chairperson of Torres and Cape Indigenous Councils Alliance (13 LGA).

Board Member

Mr. Napau Pedro Stephen

Mr Napau Pedro Stephen is the Chairman of Torres Strait Regional Authority with extensive community knowledge and networks established through the Torres Strait and Aboriginal Communities that he has worked with. Mr Stephen has extensive experience in leadership with over thirty years involvement in government and non-government organisations, having held various positions as a public and elected official and a long history of community service.
Board Member

Dr. Mark Wenitong

Dr Mark Wenitong (Professor Adjunct, QUT) is from the Kabi Kabi tribal group of South Queensland. He has been the Public Health Medical Advisor at Apunipima Cape York Health Council since 2008, where he continues to practice clinical medicine and remote health service systems and program delivery. Dr Wenitong was the Aboriginal Public Health Medical Officer, and the acting CEO, at the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) in 2012 and Prior to working at Apunipima, Dr Wenitong was Senior Medical Officer at Wuchopperen Health Service in Cairns for nine years. His main area of clinical interest is Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander primary health care. Dr Wenitong received the 2011 Australian Medical Association Presidents National Award for Excellence in Healthcare and the Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Council Hall of Fame Award in 2010. Dr Wenitong brings extensive experience to the CEQ board, with past and present experience serving on a number of boards as both member and Chair.
Board Member

Mr. Michael Aw

Mr Michael Aw has extensive experience in the retail industry, being the founding director of The Good Guys in Cairns – one of the most successful stores of its kind in the nation. Mr Aw has been the Far North Queensland Chairman for the Good Guys over a number of years and has also been a member of the national marketing and advertising advisory committee for nine years. Mr Aw is also a current serving member of Far North Queensland Football Board.
Board Member

Mr. Mislam Sam

Mr Mislam Sam is the current Director of Palm Island Junior Sports Aboriginal Corp. and former and now current Director of Palm Island Community Company board with notable business experience as a local government Councillor and educator, having most recently completed a four-year tenure as a Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Councillor. Mr Sam operates an accommodation business with a commercial kitchen on Palm Island which he has progressively grown into a prosperous business over the past four years. Prior to his role in council, Mr Sam also has over ten years’ experience working within State Government in the areas of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Policy, Education and Training both in Townsville and on Palm Island.
Board Member

Ms. Margot Richardson

Mrs Richardson is a Professional Accountant (CPA Australia) with significant accounting, auditing, business and governance experience in Far North Queensland and the Gulf of Carpentaria. Mrs Richardson is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors course (2010) and has served as a member on a number of boards, including the Gumbi Gumbi Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Corporation, Queensland Small Business Advisory Council and the Finance and Audit Committee, Southern Gulf NRM. Mrs Richardson is currently a director of Business Mapping Solutions Pty Ltd and Independent Director of Laynhapuy Aviation Aboriginal.
Board Member

Ms. Elverina Johnson

Ms Elverina Johnson has significant knowledge of the Yarrabah region, having lived and worked within the community performing community engagement roles for an extensive period of time in a range of social impact areas including drug and alcohol issues, school attendance and child safety related matters to name a few. Ms Johnson is an awarded member of the Queensland Performing Arts community, having, amongst a number of experiences, being awarded a Premier’s award for her role as a consultant curator for an Indigenous Dance Exhibition called ‘Kicking Up Dust’. Ms Johnson has extensive experience in the arts and creative writing industry, and uses her knowledge and insights gained to support community engagement activities in Yarrabah.