CEQ Corporate

About CEQ

Providing goods and services to Torres Strait, NPA and mainland Aboriginal communities in remote areas.

Community Enterprise Queensland (CEQ) is referenced in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Communities (Justice, Land and Other Matters) Act 1984 (the Act).

CEQ is a Queensland government statutory body with responsibility for commercial enterprises (currently primarily in retailing) and providing goods and essential services to Torres Strait, NPA and mainland Aboriginal remote communities.

CEQ Corporate Office is based in Cairns servicing 22 retail outlets (including IBIS and Col Jones) in the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Area and five Community Supermarkets on the mainland.

CEQ also provides employment and training opportunities for local people.

ABIS supermarkets managed by CEQ are located in 5 very remote communities: Palm Island; Lockhart River; Pormpuraaw; Kowanyama; and Doomadgee.

These stores provide fresh and healthy food, drinks and a variety of other supermarket products at a fair price. They tailor their store ranges to give remote local communities the best fresh produce and encourage healthy food choices.

A number of stores retail general merchandise such as whitegoods, drapery, manchester, furniture, power cards, along with fuel and domestic gas bottles.

About the Torres Strait

The Torres Strait is a body of water that lies between Australia and Papua New Guinea. It is approximately 150 kilometres wide at its narrowest extent. To the south is Cape York Peninsula (the northernmost continental extremity of the Australian state of Queensland) whilst to the north is Papua New Guinea.

The Torres Strait links the Coral Sea to the east with the Arafura Sea in the west. Several clusters of islands lie in the Strait, collectively called the Torres Strait Islands. There are at least 274 islands which are grouped into five distinct clusters, 17 of which have present-day permanent settlements. Of these 17 islands, 14 have stores and incorporate a treaty that enables trade practices with Papua New Guinea Nationals.

These clusters exhibit differences in geology and formation, as well as having individual cultural characteristics and language. Thirteen of the inhabited islands are located within the protected zone, as outlined in the Torres Strait Treaty.  The Treaty allows for a cooperative approach to managing the traditional movements of traditional inhabitants across the Torres Strait protected area.

Speak with us »